Concealed Handgun Permits (CHP)
Sheriff Brown is a staunch supporter of the Constitution of the United States of America, especially the
Second Amendment giving qualified Americans the right to keep and bear arms.
- Applicant must be twenty-one (21) years of age at time of application;
- Applicant must be a resident of Onslow County, North Carolina for a period of thirty (30) days
prior to the date of application;
- Applicant must be a citizen or naturalized citizen of the United States of America;
- Applicant must not suffer from any mental or physical infirmity which would prevent safe
handgun handling and operation;
- Applicant must provide a valid North Carolina Driver's License or North Carolina State Identification Card
with a valid current address;
- Applicant must successfully complete a firearms training and safety course that has been designed
by the North Carolina Criminal Justice Standards Commission.
NOTE: The Onslow County Sheriff's Office does not provide a firearms training course for the CHP permit.
- New Applications: $90.00 ($10.00 fingerprinting fee and $80.00 permit fee)
- Renewals: $75.00 (fingerprints not required)
- Duplicate: $15.00
- Fees are due at the time the application is turned in at the Sheriff's Office. Payment may be made with cash, cashiers/official check, or personal check.
If payment is by personal check, the name and address on the check must match the name and address
on the CHP permit application. Checks must be made payable to "Onslow County Sheriff's Office."
Fees are non-refundable and are required by State Law. Applicant must meet all application requirements.
- CHP permit renewals must be submitted no more than ninety (90) days prior to the expiration of the
- All applicants for CHP permits (including new, renewal, and duplicate applications) must complete
and have notarized all of the forms in the
CHP permit application ( Microsoft Word | Adobe pdf )
- MILITARY PERSONNEL must also provide a letter of recommendation from their Commanding Officer and a
military records check from the Provost Marshall's Office. An official stamp is required on all military
- At the time of application, the applicant must present the following:
- An original certificate of completion from a certified firearms training and safety course that has been
designed by the North Carolina Criminal Justice Standards Commission. A certificate is not required for
- Valid photographic identification and proof of residence. (Example: North Carolina Driver's License and a
- The application forms and other documents MUST be complete and notarized prior to submission;
- Application fee(s) as noted above.
- Once the CHP permit application has been completed and all necessary supporting documentation assembled, the applicant
should call the Sheriff's Office at (910) 455-3113 between 8:00am and 5:00pm, Monday through Friday, to schedule an
appointment to submit their application and have their fingerprints taken.
- All NEW CHP permit applicants must be fingerprinted at the Onslow County Sheriff's Office at the time the application
is submitted. Fingerprints are not required for permit renewals. The fingerprinting fee is $10.00 in addition to the CHP permit
application fee noted above, paid directly to the Onslow County Sheriff's Office.
- A criminal background check is processed by the Sheriff's CHP staff after the application is submitted and
the appropriate fees are paid (non-refundable).
- The applicant will be notified by the Sheriff's Office when the CHP permit is ready for pick up.
- For questions regarding CHP permitting, please call (910) 455-3113 or
send an e-mail to CHP Permits.
- MILITARY PERSONNEL must also provide a letter of recommendation from their Commanding Officer and a military records check from the Provost Marshall's Office. An official stamp is required on all military forms.